Everyone Everywhere

February 9, 2014


PrayingForRevival2

Revival February 23…10:15 am and 6:00 pm

With Michael W. Mason

SCRIPTURE

“God overlooked people’s ignorance about these things in earlier times, but now he commands everyone everywhere to repent of their sins and turn to him. “

~Acts 17:30, NLT

QUOTE

You are uniquely special just like everyone else.

~Anonymous

COMMENTARY

During my college days, I worked in the stock room at J.C. Penny’s in Huntsville. The assistant manager Ray Knight hired me as a favor to a Christian woman who had worked there for some 30 years. She told him that I was a preacher and would not work on Sundays. He hired me with that understanding and it shouldn’t have been a problem because the stock was closed on Sundays. My boss was a little bitty fellow named Sidney. He might have weighted 120 pounds soaking wet. He called a Sunday work day and I told him, “I don’t work on Sundays and I told him why.” He said, “Then you need not show up Monday.”  I went to my church field on Sunday like always and showed up on Monday at 4:00 p.m. like always. I clocked in as everyone else was getting ready to clock out. I started doing my duties and was watching out of the corner of my eye for the little man. Finally, he walked through on his way home but didn’t say a word. Didn’t say a word all week and then eventually things got back to normal. A few months later, he climbed upon one of the tables and announced another Sunday work day; there were moans and groans across the giant room. I was standing a few feet away and he made a point to walk right by me so he could say privately, “Of course, you are the exception by order of Mr. Knight.” I’m pretty sure I smiled. I loved it! I ate it up! I like being the exception in those cases. 

Am I different from you? Don’t you like being the exception? Human partiality allows for lots of exceptions but God is not partial and He will make no exceptions. Not for me, not for you, not for anyone! We are talking NONE, nada, zilch, zero. You will repent and turn to Christ or suffer the eternal consequences. NO EXCEPTIONS!

EXTRA

  • Men’s breakfast at 8:00 [Sausage and Biscuit today]
  • Three people liked the story of John Doe #24, we have another one to share in the service today.
  • We will be at DBC this morning and at Sardis Springs tonight [Lord willing].
  • Don’t forget to pray for our Revival February 23…I talked with J.W. and Sandra yesterday and they are excited. They love Mike and are anxious to hear him.
  • We are considering some changes…some you will see today and some in March. I am confident that you will tell me if you don’t like them.
Leave a Reply

