Missing The Signs

January 23, 2014


PrayingForRevival2

SCRIPTURE

“But I tell you, Elijah has already come, but he wasn’t recognized, and they chose to abuse him. And in the same way they will also make the Son of Man suffer.”

Matthew 17:12, NLT

QUOTE

It is possible to sit on the shore discussing the signs of the times when we ought to be driven by the signs of the times to launch out into the deep and let down our nets for a draught.

~Vance Havner

COMMENTARY

Jesus has an encounter with the Pharisee and the Sadducees in Matthew 16 where they ask for a sign. Jesus said, “You know the saying, ‘Red sky at night, sailors delight; red sky in the morning, sailors take warning.’ You know how to interpret the weather signs in the sky, but you don’t know how to interpret the signs of the times! {JEV} In other words, why give you a sign, you would miss it if I gave it.

Some twenty-seven years ago,  when Joe David was playing little league, I was helping a certain man coach. I was at first base and he was at third. He was the manager and I was his assistant. He went over the signs before the game but I didn’t pay much attention. Some where near the beginning of the game we had a man on first and second. The runner on second attempted to steal third while my guy stayed put. All of a sudden I hear this man screaming at me, “Wake up, you missed the sign.” He got that right, I was watching the game and I never saw a sign. He relieved me of my position the next inning. In other words, he fired me on the spot. Actually, he demoted me to the dugout. It is what it is and he did what he had to do. I don’t think I laughed that night but over the years, it has brought a chuckle or two.

The religious Jews of today are still looking for Elijah to come. They have a place sit at the Passover table for him but Jesus said, “He has already come but you did not recognize him”.  In other words, “You missed the sign.” It is getting bad when “Sign Seekers” miss the signs.

Father, give us a spirit of humility and discernment that we might recognize the signs.

EXTRA

  • Two years ago on this date, word broke about Joe Paterno’s death. Last year on this date, it was cold: high was 35*.
  • I want to do a top ten on “It’s so cold”...I have a couple but I am open for suggestions like…It is so cold that Gregg is wearing socks…or it so cold that Noah is wearing long pants, etc. Send suggestions and throw-back pics to jack@danvillebaptist.org.
  • The YOUTH had their section full last night. If we could get our adults to be as faithful as the youth, we would have REVIVAL. We should be thrilled that they are coming and we should be there to support them.
  • Joe David and I attended the Bob Pickens COLS yesterday. Bob out lived all his old Danville buddies like John and Hugh. The man who eulogized Mr. Pickens talked about him insisting on picking up the tab when you went out to eat. I told J.D. coming back that John Tanner was the same way. Unfortunately we are losing a generation that we can’t replace. O.B. Owens lead the pack in this area: you would have to fight him to get the ticket.
How Many Can You Name?

How Many Can You Name?

ab through back

DBC Youth Choir 1987

Leave a Reply

