Underdogs!

January 20, 2014


PrayingForRevival2

SCRIPTURE

“Don’t be ridiculous!” Saul replied. “There’s no way you can fight this Philistine and possibly win! You’re only a boy, and he’s been a man of war since his youth.”

~I Samuel 17:33, NLT

QUOTE

Everybody likes to cheer for the underdog. People love to see some one beat the odds.

~Stephen May

COMMENTARY

What did David, the 1968 Jets, the 1969 Mets and the 1972 US Olympic Hockey team have in common? They were all underdogs. No one thought they could win but win they did. The same could have been said for the 13 Colonies who took on the British Empire; few people actually believed the Colonies could defeat the most powerful army in the world but they did. We could also say the same about the Church; Who other than Christ and maybe a hand full of followers thought the church could survive? The Jews hated Jesus and His followers and did everything in their power to destroy the mystical body of Christ. Where the Jews left off, the Romans picked up but in spite of the brutal persecution the church not only survived, it thrived.

I agree with Stephen May, practically everyone likes a good underdog story. We like to cheer for the underdog but we don’t want to be the underdog. We prefer the odds be in our favor. We like to see others overcome great obstacles but we don’t like to face obstacles ourselves. It is inevitable however that we, sooner or later, will find ourselves in an underdog situation. There are obstacles before us and the odds are overwhelmingly against us. The challenge is too great, the opposition too strong and our resources are too limited. Been there, done that and have the T-shirt.

This is where faith comes in…”For everyone born of God overcomes the world. This is the victory that has overcome the world, even our faith.” David believed he could win and so did the Mets, Jets and the kids on the hockey team. Remember the words of Gabriel, “Nothing is impossible with God.”

EXTRA

  • God is good, what can I say; I’m having more fun than a 46-year-old should be having. I love to preach and I’m thankful to have someone to preach to: TYJ. I did miss my exhorters last night. Keith and John are going to have to work out a rotation so that they don’t both miss on the same night or service. I could not beg an amen out of the crowd last night. It got so pitiful that an Auburn fan finally said “Amen” just so we could go home. I love the trio: aren’t they something. Our entire band is great. They work hard and deserve to be paid. Why don’t you pay them a compliment. What about that piano player; I really enjoyed those offertories yesterday morning.
  • We have right at $3,500.00 on our FEEDING CENTER FUND and our goal is $10,000.00. This means we lack $7,500.00 and I would like to get it in the next three weeks. This is my prayer. I would like to get to the $5,000.00 mark next Sunday.
  • Sanctity of Human Life Sunday was yesterday and I should have addressed the subject from the pulpit but I was not thinking. Our LCBS lesson was good but convicting. I was very convicted about getting an elevator in the FORTE. The Deacons agreed that we need to make it a matter of serious prayer and get some estimates or bids to present to the church. We all agreed “Doing what is right” takes priority over the cost. We don’t want an accident before we get this problem fixed. I plan to begin work on this project today.
  • Bill Hancock was promoted Saturday night after an extended illness. Bill is Craig Hogan’s granddad, Noah and Cane’s great granddad and Susanne Freeman’s father. The visitation is tomorrow at 11:00 a.m. and the COLS is at 1:00 p.m. Bill has been a member of East Highland Baptist Church for years. He was a good man. I had a good visit with he and Lillian after Teresa’s promotion last year.
  • I’m not sure what all I will be doing today but LORD willing, we are going to get the Christmas tree down that is in the foyer. I am shocked that Lexi has not already complained.
Hey Lexi, the world see this, not 30 people.

War still on! I guess!

Celebrate Jesus

Leave a Reply

