The Power of A Story

January 18, 2014


PrayingForRevival2

SCRIPTURE

Then he {Jesus} sat there and taught as the people stood on the shore. He told many stories in the form of parables…

~Matthew 13:2-3, NLT

QUOTE

“If history were taught in the form of stories, it would never be forgotten.”

~Rudyard Kipling

  COMMENTARY

Jesus was a master story-teller and there are good reasons why He employed stories in His teaching.

  1. Everybody loves stories. Young or old, it matters not, everyone likes a good story. They grab our attention.
  2. Stories make great illustrations. Jesus used a lot of parables which are earthy stories with a heavenly meaning. His stories had a moral, they taught some particular truth about Himself, the Father, the Kingdom or the opposition.
  3. Stories are easier for us to remember. I remember stores my grandmother told me when I was a very small child.

Two young ladies approached me Wednesday night after the service: they were sisters. One of them had attended on Sunday morning and she was telling me how God had changed her life during the service. Since we had two a.m. services, I was curious about which sermon God used to speak to her. So I ask, “Was it the message about the Rich Fool or Noah?” She gave me this blank look, like a calf looking at a new gate. So I phrased the question differently, “Was it about the fool or the flood?” She hesitated for a moment and then said, “It was about the bootlegger and his son.” I don’t have a sermon on a bootlegger and son but I told a story at the end of the second service about a bootlegger and his son. She could not have told me what the sermon was about if I had put a gun to her head but she remembered the story. God uses stories which is why Jesus told them.

This does not say much for the power of my preaching but it is a testimony to the power of a story. She gently deflated my ego but she also reminded me of a truth that I keep forgetting. People remember stories. The problem is Jason remembers all my stories.

EXTRA

  • Last year on this date, the high was 52 with sunshine after 8 straight days of rain.
  • Back to reality at 1120 Ironman Road…My little shadow was with me most of the day yesterday. I did manage to get in about 6 hours of study. She took IMG_0103one nap and then road to town with Big Mama. I have to slip off or she goes everywhere I go, trust me; everywhere. I started to carry her with me to eat with Ty and Josie but that would have been disaster. She is not ready for sit down lunches quit yet. When I mention carrying her to Cracker Barrel with us, Big Mama goes to shaking that head no! 
  • You talk about a pleasant surprise. I had to go to the office yesterday for a couple of things and my office was immaculate. An angel has visited my filthy office and cleaned it up. You could eat off the floor. Before the cleaning, it appeared that I had been eating off the floor.  She said something about a “Pig Sty” the other day and it dawned on me yesterday that she was talking about my office. You know the old saying, “Dirty office, clean mind,” Or something like that!
  • I am looking forward to Sunday…The Parable of the Mustard Seed Sunday a.m. and the “Leaven” Sunday night. Deacons meeting at 8:00, Bible Study at 9:00 and worship at 10:15 and 6:00.
  • God is good. I have many reasons to give thanks: one month ago, I had serious doubts about being able to preach the revival. God has been good to me. My stomach did not give one problem and the folks at Grand Bay are super nice. I just want to say THANK YOU one more time to the LORD and them.
  • If you can guess who the lovely maidens are below, your win a copy of my latest book: HUMILITY, HOW I ATTAINED IT AND WHY I AM PROUD OF IT.
0ne of these lovely chicks became a "Stalker"

Guess Who?

One Response to “The Power of A Story”


  1. That says more about your repetitiveness that my memory…

Leave a Reply

