Colin Kaepernick

January 14, 2014


PrayingForRevival2

SCRIPTURE

If you honor your father and mother, “Things will go well for you, and you will have a long life on the earth.

~Ephesians 6:3, NLT

QUOTE

“Adoption is the most intentional process on Earth.”

~Jody Cantrell

COMMENTARY

kaepernickI boycotted the NFL because I know they ostracized Tebow for being open about his love for Jesus. Some team tried to talk Favre out of retirement when Tebow is dying to play, who are they kidding! But I sinned, I started watching the playoffs. I like the Chargers and the Colts and now both are out but I did pull for San Francisco. One of the guys here in Mobile told me to research Colin Kaepernick’s life: he said,  “He has an interesting story.” He was right.

Colin was born in Wisconsin to Heidi Russo who was not married. She had him for six weeks and then gave him up for adoption. She and the adoptive parents [a term that Colin doesn’t like] had an agreement to stay in contact and allow her to be a part of his life but she broke the contract saying that she could not handle the emotional stress. Colin is of mixed race and Heidi has never revealed the identity of his father.

Rick and Teresa Kaepernick

Rick and Teresa Kaepernick

During his senior year in college at the University of Nevada Reno, Heidi began trying to establish contact but Colin refuses to talk with the woman who gave him birth. She attended one of his games but he did not acknowledge her presence. Some people are questioning her timing but she denies her sudden interest being related to his success. A team-mate from college says, “Colin loves his parents and although he has never stated it, I think he sees contacting his biological birth parent as disloyalty to them.

This is not my usual cup of tea but I do think it is an interesting story and I think adoption is wonderful and abortion is not. Go adoption… it beats abortion! I bet Colin Kaepernick would agree.

EXTRA

  • Our Hotel

    Our Hotel

    Another good service…I keep thinking that it is going break wide open…we seem awfully close…”Who Knows”…We are at God’s mercy. We don’t deserve a Revival but I pray we get one that starts in Grand Bay and goes all the way to Chesapeake Bay, then to Green Bay and from there to San Francisco Bay.

  • Guess what Big Mama had for lunch yesterday? I knew you couldn’t guess….a tomato sandwich. There is a family in Teddy’s church that grows and sales winter tomatoes. They get the seed from Israel and grow them in a green house and they taste great. I’ve got to get Jerry some of those seed. They cost 20 cents per seed. You grow them on a cable and they hang down. They have a cluster of tomatoes every 15 inches and the vines will grow up to 15 feet long. We are going to visit the green house tomorrow and I will get a picture.
  • Note of interest: there are five CVS drug stores between here and Friendship and four Walgreens. There are only three Dollar Generals. Just something I thought you would want to know. It made your day, right?
  • One woman ask me last night how many red lights were in Danville…there are thousands here…I said, “We only have one caution light.”  I could see the disappointment in her face, she said, “Oh, it is small, isn’t it.” I said, “Yes ma’am, real small.” Teddy told them it was booming metropolis and she took him serious.

CELEBRATE JESUS

Leave a Reply

