The Heart

January 9, 2014


PrayingForRevival2

SCRIPTURE

“Simon, Simon, behold, Satan has demanded permission to sift you like wheat; but I have prayed for you, that your faith may not fail; and you, when once you have turned again, strengthen your brothers.”

~Luke 22:31-32, NASB

QUOTE

The heart is more deceitful than all else and is desperately sick; Who can understand it?

~Jeremiah

COMMENTARY

Peter was confident, so confident that argued with Jesus; “Lord, I’m ready to go to prison with you and to die with you.” Jesus said, “I can guarantee this truth: Before a rooster crows tonight, you will say three times that you don’t know me.” Peter retorted, “Even if I have to die with You, I will not deny You.” All the disciples echoed Peter’s sentiment. Peter was convinced beyond a doubt that he knew his own heart and that Jesus underestimated him. You and I know the truth:  JESUS IS NEVER WRONG.  Jesus knew more about Peter than Peter did himself.

The human heart will play cruel tricks on us; do not trust it. What Peter did once I have done a dozen times or more. I was sure that I knew my heart, my intent, my motive only to have God reveal to me later that my motives were selfish and vain.  Every time it happens and I go back to the LORD for my apology, I say something like this– “LORD You knew all along didn’t you?” In His gently way, He whispers ‘Yes’. Now I see young people, younger than myself, and they are so convinced that they are glorifying God in what they do but it is clear to me that it is not God who is being  glorified. I know the truth and  of course God knows but they don’t know. Why don’t I just tell them? It will not work for me to tell them; it is impossible to know the heart a part from the Holy Spirit revealing it to us.  As in all things, we are at God’s mercy.

EXTRA

  • David Orr‘s surgery went well and Jamie got good news PTL!
  • Eddie leaves for China today and I think Sue is going to wait a couple of weeks.
  • Big Mama and I will be leaving Saturday for Grand Bay…Pray for the REVIVAL at FRIENDSHIP Baptist where Teddy is pastor. It is a great church. The boy has done a terrific job. He loves his people and they are believers in pray and so are we.
  • Pray for Joe David, he will be preaching twice Sunday. Gregg is making the coffee [which he does all the time] and getting the Donuts and Biscuits. No deacons meeting Sunday.
  • Good attendance last night. It’s tough to get going after all that time off but I think we are back in the routine.
  • Check the mail box Sunday, we need to get all the Christmas Cards out. Mandy needs the room to put your Contribution Statements in on Sunday January 19.
  • I’m loving this heat wave! Makes me want to lay out, not! I am thankful however.
  • Tough day for kids: we had two grandsons who cried all the way to school. They didn’t want to go.
Tell me this is not happening!

Tell me this is not happening!

Leave a Reply

