Doubt

January 8, 2014


PrayingForRevival2

Jesus immediately reached out and grabbed him. “You have so little faith,” Jesus said. “Why did you doubt me?”

~Matthew 14:31, NLT

QUOTE

Satan’s arsenal consists of such things as fear, worry, doubt, and self-pity.

~Francis Frangipane

COMMENTARY

Why did Peter doubt Jesus? Had he seen Jesus fail at anything? So why did Peter doubt?  A man came up to me yesterday and asked me this question: “Are you a bible scholar?” I thought for a moment and then I said, “Not really, I do study a lot and I read the bible but I don’t have the intellect to be a scholar.” He said, “How can you know beyond a shadow of doubt that your going to heaven.” I said, “You cannot know, that would eliminate faith but you can have a rock-solid assurance based on God’s word and the atoning work of Christ.” He said the verse that troubles me in Matthew 7:21, Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father who is in heaven will enter. Many will say to Me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in Your name, and in Your name cast out demons, and in Your name perform many miracles?’ And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness.’”  He said, “what if I am deceived?” I said, “You have asked a good question which is a good sign. The Pharisees never asks that question; they were sure of themselves and that is exactly the kind of people who Jesus is referring to.” Do you want to know the truth about your relationship with Christ? Jesus loves you and He is not playing games: He wants you to know the truth. He is not out to deceive you, that would be His arch-enemy, the devil. Remember, they are polar opposites.  When it comes to salvation and heaven, make sure all your eggs are in the same basket, Jesus.

To answer the original question: why did Peter doubt? He doubted momentarily because he failed; he took his eyes off of Jesus and was looking at the storm. He also doubted because he was human but later he came to have great assurance. If  Peter wrestled with doubt, what makes you think you will be immune. The devil is a master tempter.  When it comes to doubt, he will confuse and trip you up which is his game plan. Remember, he is not going to tempt you to doubt something you don’t have. If you don’t have it, he wants to keep you in the dark.

EXTRA

  • It’s so cold that my feet got cold last Monday night while I was sitting in the den with my boots on.
  • It’s so cold that Noah is wearing long pants.
  • It’s so cold that Gregg is wearing socks.
  • It’s so cold that Jerry and Daryl did not go hunting.
  • It’s so cold that the office was 55 degrees this morning with the heat wide open.
  • Pray for David Orr and Jamie Glenn. David has surgery and I think Floyd has some test today.
Baby, its cold outside!

Baby, its cold outside!

CELEBRATE JESUS WITH DANVILLE BAPTIST CHURCH

Leave a Reply

