Providential Guidance

January 4, 2014


PrayingForRevival2

SCRIPTURE

I know, O Lord, that a man’s way is not in himself, nor is it in a man who walks to direct his steps.

~Jeremiah 10:23, NASB

QUOTE

Take care of running before you are sent. Keep your wills in equipoise till God’s hand gives the impulse and direction.

~Alexander MacLaren

COMMENTARY

You never know what a day will bring forth. In my old age I have tried to slow down enough to seek God’s direction. In the past I’ve been like a pilot who doesn’t wait for instructions from the tower before taking off. I had made some tentative plans for yesterday but was very open to the LORD’s direction. I had intended to out of town but mysteriously that did not work out. I was a little disappointed but I have learned to wait on the LORD. By the end of the day, I could see God’s providential hand of grace guiding my steps. I was not where I planned to be [Cherokee] but I was confident that I was where the LORD wanted me to be[Birmingham]. There are things that the pilot can see for himself but he cannot see what they see in tower. God has a higher perspective, He sees all the traffic and He knows the direction we need to go. Sometimes a big part of following is waiting for Him to give us permission to take off.

EXTRA

  • Chloe Bug and I went to Walmart yesterday: she was good believe it or not. I was looking for her a Barney. Have you priced a stuffed animals at Wally World lately, 19$ for an ugly stuffed animal and 32$ for a toy guitar. I thought Walmart was supposed to be cheap.
  • During the holiday I thought a lot about my Mother and how insensitive I was to her loneliness. I have been thinking about taking the widows to Cracker barrel for a long time and just decided to give it a shot. I don’t know if any of them will show up or not but we are going to give it our best effort.
  • Pray for REVIVAL…Friendship Baptist Church, Grand Bay, Alabama…January 12-15
  • Not going to share details but I am telling you that every family I know has problems. We may be facing different issues but we all need grace, mercy and prayer. I’ve been thinking about the words to JESUS FRIEND OF SINNERS a lot here lately…they convict me….

Oh Jesus, friend of sinners
Open our eyes to the world at the end of our pointing fingers
Let our hearts be led by mercy
Help us reach with open hearts and open doors
Oh Jesus, friend of sinners, break our hearts for what breaks yours.

Celebrate Jesus With Danville Baptist Church

Leave a Reply

