The Gift That Keeps On Giving

December 23, 2013


my hope Christmas

SCRIPTURE

“But you, Bethlehem Ephrathah, though you are little among the thousands of Judah, Yet out of you shall come forth to Me The One to be Ruler in Israel, whose goings forth are from of old, from everlasting.”

~Micah 5:2, NKJV

QUOTE

The gospel is the one gift that when given becomes a greater treasure to the giver.

~Yaakov

COMMENTARY

The Christmas story is not about Bethlehem, angels, shepherds, stables or mangers. The thing that made Bethlehem famous is that Jesus was born there. The angels showed up to announce His birth. The stable became a gathering place for the lowly shepherds to worship and praise God because the Christ Child was born in this stable. In other words, if you remove Christ from the first Christmas then all you are left with is a little town, a stinky stable, and a host of people like the shepherds that we would have never heard about. All the activity surrounding this holy night focused on Jesus. Even as an infant He transformed a stable into a cathedral, shepherds into evangelist and He made the little town of Bethlehem the most famous village on the planet. Jesus transforms places and people and there is nothing that the unbelieving world can do about it. Join the shepherds in sharing the good news about Jesus. Every time we share the gospel, our lives are enriched. It is the gift that keeps on giving.

EXTRA

We have a lot to celebrate and be thankful for and we will begin with Ryder’s profession of faith. What a great way to conclude a worship celebration, plus we get to celebrate Baptism next Sunday which makes 7 of the last 10. Then I was thrilled with the crowd for supper last night. We have not had a turn out like this for a Christmas supper in a while. I enjoyed it very much and I do appreciate the church family sharing a meal with us at such a special time. I also want to thank so many for their Acts of Kindness. First of all, I want to thank you for your prayers. A beautiful young woman hugged me yesterday morning and whispers in my ear, “I’ve been praying for you.” It was sweet music to my ear, there is no greater gift! We appreciate all the prayers, cards, Cracker Barrel gift cards [that we will get to use], money, candy, etc. Your kindness is overwhelming. Two angels showed up at our house yesterday evening with a box of goodies. Your kindness never stops. Thank YOU DBC!  All my grandchildren were at the supper last night, TYJ! Jay, Liz, Andy and Emily Gordon were with us last night. Jay is an Executive Pastor at a large church in Arkansas. I wish a multi-billionaire that loved Jesus and tithed [to the local church] would join DBC and then we could call Jay to be our Executive Pastor. One other thing… you aren’t going to believe it: I have figured out how to download my I-Phone to my computer without erasing all my numbers: PTL! I keep forgetting to show you my picture of the Shipley Triplets…Walker, Sellers and Eli Meade [not Shipley].

photo (24)

Christmas Supper

Christmas Supper

DBC Children

DBC Children Listen to Christmas Story

Leave a Reply

