Do Angels Sing?

December 7, 2013


my hope Christmas

SCRIPTURE

And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God and saying: “Glory to God in the highest, And on earth peace, goodwill toward men!”

~Luke 2:13-14, NKJV

QUOTE

“Hark the herald angels sing, glory to the new born King!”

~Charles Wesley

COMMENTARY

In recent years some want-to-be theologians have come out with the theory that angels can neither sing nor rejoice. They point out the fact that no where in scripture does it actually say that an angels sings and in Luke 15, there is rejoicing “in the presence of the angels” over one sinner that repents. In Luke 2, a single herald speaks to the shepherds and then a host of angels appear praising God and saying in unison, “Glory to God in the highest and on earth peace, goodwill toward men.” Heaven is shrouded in mystery; perhaps angels do sing or maybe it is something better. I happen to be old school and I believe the devil was a musician which means angels have a history in music. I can’t imagine them being into music and not song but it is really a mute point. If it’s rap, chant, poetic unison or singing, it will be good; I believe incredibly good. I don’t know what purpose preachers have in telling people that angels cannot sing or rejoice. I do not think God can be properly praised without joy and I am fully convinced that the angels were excited about delivering the good news to the shepherds. I can imagine a bored angel, can you?

EXTRA

Charles read a poem at the Senior Adult meeting yesterday and it stirred my mind and heart. You know the Christmas song, “I’ll be home for Christmas,” the question is, where is home? To me, heaven is home. Mother told me more than once, “Son, it doesn’t get easier, I miss your daddy more every day.” I would phrase Mother’s words in a different way, “The longing for heaven grows stronger every day.” It’s like a gravitational pull. Anyway, here is the poem and according to the internet source, it was written by a 13 year old boy named Bed who died of a brain tumor on December 14, 1997. He wrote this poem as a gift to his mom. He handed it to her shortly before he took his flight. There were not many dry eyes after Charles read it yesterday.

I see the countless Christmas trees around the world below
With tiny lights like Heaven’s stars reflecting the snow.
The sight is so spectacular- please wipe away the tear
For I’m spending Christmas with Jesus this year.

I hear the many Christmas songs that people hold so dear
But the sound of music can’t compare with the Christmas choir up here
I have no words to tell you the joys their voices bring
For it’s beyond description to hear the angels sing

I know how much you miss me, I see the pain inside your heart
But I am not so far away, we really aren’t apart.
So be happy for me dear ones you know I hold you dear
And be glad I’m spending Christmas with Jesus Christ this year.

I sent you each a special gift for my heavenly home above,
I sent you each a memory of my undying love.
After all love is a gift more precious than pure gold.
It was always most important in the stories Jesus told.

Please love and keep each other as my Father said to do.
For I can’t count the blessing of love he has for each of you.
So have a merry Christmas and wipe away that tear.
Remember I am spending Christmas with Jesus Christ this year.

senior christmas

Leave a Reply

