Brokenness

November 22, 2013


my hope Christmas

SCRIPTURE

The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit;
A broken and a contrite heart, O God, You will not despise.

~Psalms 51:17, NASB

QUOTE

God uses broken things. It takes broken soil to produce a crop, broken clouds to give rain, broken grain to give bread, broken bread to give strength.

~Vance Havner

COMMENTARY

We all dream of success and happiness but no one in their right mind would wish for suffering and hardship yet life is a mixture of both good and bad; sorrow and joy; pain and pleasure. In the midst of Job’s sorrow, his beloved wife chided him, “Still holding on to your precious integrity, are you? Curse God and be done with it!” Job said to her, “You’re talking like an empty-headed fool. We take the good days from God—why not also the bad days?”  Jesus fed a multitude with one little lad’s lunch but not before He blessed it and then broke it. When we give our life to Jesus, He takes it, breaks it, blesses it and offers it to the multitudes. No human will ever be of real service in the kingdom of God until he or she is broken.

EXTRA

Jimmy and Sandra had a hard day yesterday: Dana blood pressure shot sky-high and they were not able to do the surgery. For a while, there was a lot of uncertainty. Dana is still very serious but the doctor was very positive. They hope to stabilize her, reduce her fluids and get her stronger before doing the surgery. As of yesterday, surgery was still in the plans. Pray for Jimmy, Sandra and Scott. They are deeply concerned and I know they appreciate your prayers.

I want to thank those who prayed for me yesterday. I knew even before I retired Wednesday night that I had more to do than I could do and didn’t really know where to begin but the Spirit of God guided me yesterday morning and that was confirmed once I got to the hospital. Thank you folks; there is nothing I need more than prayer and nothing I appreciate more. Thank YOU! I also ran by and checked on Charlie Thompson and he is making progress.

LORD willing: today, Felton, Don and myself will be putting in a handicap ramp for the Jackson family is Speake. If you want to get in on the fun, we will met at the church parking lot at 9:00 am.

A Sight For Sore Eyes

A Sight For Sore Eyes

Leave a Reply

