Stiff Necks Or Red Necks Or Both

November 17, 2013


my hope Christmas

SCRIPTURE

For I know your rebellion and your stiff neck. If today, while I am yet alive with you, you have been rebellious against the Lord, then how much more after my death?

~Deuteronomy 31:27, NKJV

QUOTE

wLord, bend that proud and stiffnecked “I,” Help me to bow the neck and die, Beholding Him on Calvary, Who bowed His Head for me.

~Author Unknown

COMMENTARY

Deuteronomy 31 is a very interesting chapter. The LORD pulls Moses aside for a chat and He tells Him…[JEV]”You are not going to lead the Israelites into the promised land, Joshua is going to take your place. I want you to encourage him because he will be the new leader. As for you, I’m taking you home to be with your ancestors but I want you to know before you go, the Israelites are not going to make it long term. Oh, I will give them the land but they will not keep it because they are a rebellious people and they will forsake My commandments and go after the gods the natives worship. Don’t take it personal Moses, you did all you could do.” As soon at Moses conversation with the LORD is concluded, Moses has a talk with the Israelites. “Joshua is going to lead you and the LORD is going before you to give you victory but you will not sustain the victory nor keep the land. I know you and I know the inclination of your heart, you have a stiff neck and you are prone to rebellion. You’ve been pretty bad while I was here but after I gone, you will be worse. You will not keep the land; you will turn to evil and it will destroy you.” Moses was a prophet: they did exactly as he said they would do.

EXTRA

I’ll be glad when football season is over. I had gone to bed and I had predicted that Georgia would come back. She came running in an woke me up telling me they were ahead 38-37 and I get up just in time to the famous Auburn luck. The kid was not even looking for the ball. The game should have been extended, that was a head to head on Murray on the last play. Well, its just a game. But it got me wide awake and here I am at 10:30 and I should have been in bed two hours ago. Alabama’s win was ugly. If we don’t get our act together the aubies will beat us.

  • Deacons meeting at 8:00
  • LIFE HANGING BIBLE STUDY at 9:00
  • Worship Celebration 10:15
  • Baptism
  • Church, the Sunday night Place at 6:00 [Children go straight to play practice]
Leave a Reply

