Designer Religion

November 13, 2013


my hope youth 2

SCRIPTURE

So on the fifteenth day of the eighth month, a day that he himself had designated, Jeroboam offered sacrifices on the altar at Bethel. He instituted a religious festival for Israel, and he went up to the altar to burn incense.

~I Kings 12:33, NLT

QUOTE

True faith in Christ which demands commitment and sacrifice is being replaced by trendy religion designed to serve the selfish.

~Billy Graham

{The Reason For My Hope, p.105}

COMMENTARY

America is moving from Christianity to many religions, some think 310 million. Whereas I think 310 million is an exaggeration, I do agree that the trend is toward multi-culturalism with more isms and schisms than Carter has pills. One woman did a blend of Baha`i plus Native American and Christianity. Sociologist Robert Bellah tells about a woman named Sheila who said, “I can’t remember the last time I went to church. My faith has carried me a long way, it’s Sheilaism.  Just my own little voice telling me what to do. I just try to love myself and be gentle with myself.” These Hollywood types are really out there: Sharon stone claims to be both Buddhist and a believer in what she calls the traditional god. I have news for Sharon, God is a reality, not a tradition.

Jeroboam did not want the Israelites {North} to go to Jerusalem {South} to worship; so he designed his own religion and even made himself a priest. His religion was tailor made to suit his needs and enhance his political agenda. One of the tell-tell signs of a designer religion is its emphasis on works or performance. In designer religion, social awareness replaces Spirit-filled life and the emphasis is on ‘working for God’ rather than have Him work through us. This explains how they can go through an entire worship service and not mention Jesus. They have a religion without a Savior.

By the way, one of the new blends out is called “Chrislam,” and I do wish I was kidding. It is a blend between Christianity and Islam where differences are overlooked. This is not a good way to end a blog, you probably feel like throwing up. For the record, Christianity does not blend with any religion because it is not a religion. A religion did not die on the cross for our sins, Jesus did.

EXTRA

Someone ask me today how MY HOPE went and I said, “It is not gone.” People who think that MY HOPE is a thing of the past have missed the point. Unfortunately some pastors never attended training and they did not understand the purpose and intent of MY HOPE. Dr. Graham believes that half of the church folk in the pew are unsaved but they are gospel hardened. MY HOPE is about reaching those who do not attend church. It is about doing evangelism in the home, a restaurant or the office. Many lost people will not set foot inside a church. MY HOPE revealed our weakness: [1] Most of us don’t have lost friends and [2] We don care enough for the ones we have to risk rejection. It revealed our indifference and our fear. It is easy to show a Billy Graham video in a church service. As Wade says, “Church is like Six Flags Over Jesus.” It takes faith to do MY HOPE right and some preachers and members lacked such faith. It is not too late to get things right. Order Billy Graham’s THE REASON FOR MY HOPE and read it, then you will understand where I am coming from. I thought David made a great point Sunday night: if you invited a friend and they did not come or stood you up: they know why you invited them and thus they know you care. I know it hurts, I was deeply disappointed that many of my friends did not show but I tried and I am not quitting: I am going to try again. We have a great young couple that have literally kept me going through the months of preparing for MY HOPE. They had four people committed to coming to their MY HOPE party and none of them showed up. They were heartbroken but no ready to throw in the towel. Their exact words were: “We are going to try it again.”

LIFE CHANGING WEDNESDAY NIGHT SUPPER AT 5:30, AWANA 6:15, The Gathering at 6:30 [Everyone except AWANA], Choir and P-31 at 7:00.

Leave a Reply

