Marines and Christians

November 12, 2013


my hope youth 2

SCRIPTURE

But to all who believed him and accepted him, he gave the right to become children of God.

~John 1:12, NLT

QUOTE

“A religion that gives nothing, cost nothing and suffers nothing is worth nothing.”

~Martin Luther

COMMENTARY

marineChristianity is simple but it is not easy. It is not merely giving intellectual accent to the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus. The word believe in John 1:12 carries with it the idea of commitment. It is not saying that I believe the chair will hold me up, it is sitting down in the chair. What does it take to become a Marine. Would I be a Marine if I said, “I believe in the Marines,” or “I believe it would be good to be a Marine.” Neither of those would make me a Marine. When you join the Marines, you basically give your life to them…they own you. They are going to break your will and change the way you think. Jesus is infinitely greater than the Marines. If He’s not changing you, something is very wrong.

EXTRA

Enjoyed my Holiday. Spent most of the day piling brush so I hope I can get out of bed in the morning. I may be like Tob Morris in the morning. He worked hard in the yard one day and the next morning he was so sore he could not get out of bed. He looked at Blonde and said, “What did I do yesterday?” I may be asking that question in the morning. We will get started on PROJECT MY HOPE today LORD willing.

Leave a Reply

