My Reason For My Hope

November 10, 2013


my hope with BG cropped

SCRIPTURE

Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything that I have commanded you. And remember, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”

Matthew 28:19-20, NRSV

QUOTE

Let me be the first to confess: there are times when I suffer from evangelism fatigue. I know I should care, I know I should reach out to them, I know I should talk to them about Jesus – but my motivation meter is hovering at low voltage.

~Lee Strobel

COMMENTARY

I was saved from hell at the age of nine but being saved from myself is taking a lot longer. The LORD began dealing with me about being a witness in my teen age years and I tried once or twice and failed miserably. Finally, at age 17, I went to my pastor Calvin C. Inman and ask him if he would train me and he agreed; we started that very day. I went down on Sunday morning and we started that evening. I was scared spit-less. Before we pulled into the first yard, I saw where he was going and told him I could not go there because I had lived a compromising life in front of this man. Bro. Inman said, “Jack, you must ask God to forgive you and if this man brings it up, you ask him to forgive you. He never brought it up but I went ahead and confessed and ask for his forgiveness. He was gracious. God called me to be a witness before He called me to preach or pastor. The last few years, I have drifted from my calling. We do not migrate toward evangelism, we drift away from it. When I got the Graham’s letter [Tracey opened and gave to me], my heart skipped a few beats. I thought this may be what I need to get myself and the church back into the harvest. I was excited but afraid. In the average church 10% will respond to the call of a Matthew. I was afraid we might not have any. My first sigh of relief came on April 14 when we had 12 families respond. I was elated. Then I wrestled with anxiety of whether if was going to work at Danville. About two weeks ago I began to get some peace. The more I watched the videos, the more confidence I had that soul’s were going to be saved. We had a few of our 12 to drop out and I think we ended up doing 9 parties with 2 professions of faith. I know we could have done, and should have done better but I am thankful for what we did because it is what God has called us to do. God uses things like MY HOPE to prod us out of our comfort zone. I needed a prod and God has called me to be a prod. MY HOPE is not over: I think it is just beginning. I am convinced that our church does not have one problem that evangelism [obedience] cannot solve. Our greatest problem is a lack of love: For Jesus and lost people.

EXTRA

  • Matthew report time 8:30
  • LIFE CHANGING BIBLE STUDY 9:00
  • Celebrate Jesus in Worship 10:15
  • Baptism 11:15
  • Felton and Nayola’s 50th wedding anniversary celebration 2:00-4:00 pm in the parlor
  • Celebrated Jesus in Worship 6:00
  • MY HOPE YOUTH PARTY 7:00
Leave a Reply

