Who Knows?

November 7, 2013


Pray For MY HOPE

Pray For MY HOPE

SCRIPTURE

Finally, they said to each other, “This is not right. This is a day of good news, and we aren’t sharing it with anyone!

~2 Kings 7:9, NLT

QUOTE

Evangelism is not a professional job for a few trained men, but is instead the unrelenting responsibility of every person who belongs to the company of Jesus.
Elton Trueblood

COMMENTARY

I love the story of the four lepers who were sitting out side the walls of Samaria. One of them said,  “Are we going to sit here waiting to die?” Another said,  “We will starve if we stay here, but if we go back into the city, we will starve there.” Another says, “Why don’t we surrender to the Aramean army? If they kill us on sight, it beats starving slowly. Who knows, why not give it a shot.” The fourth leper says, “Hey, we are going to die anyway, we have nothing to lose, lets go for it.” What I really love about the story is that it has a happy ending. The Aramean army has fled in panic. They left in the night and left everything in tact: tents, animals tethered, food, equipment and even gold and silver. When these four beggars discovered the empty camp, they had a party. They were eating, drinking and hiding some of the cash. One of them spoke us, “Guys, we are not doing what is right. We have friends and family in the city starving, we must share this good new.” They agreed and shared the news; thus a city was saved from starvation.

There are four things I want you to notice about these lepers

  1. They were desperate men facing a dilemma. They lived on the garbage that came over the wall but there was no garbage and they are starving to death.
  2. They did not make excuses. These men were social outcast, that is why they are outside. No one wanted anything to do with them because they were lepers. They could have easily had the attitude, “No one cares about us, why should we care about them?”
  3. They decided to take a change. They had no idea what was going to happen but they were ready to try something even if it did not work.
  4. They acted on faith and they reaped a bountiful harvest.
Pray For Revival

Pray For Revival

EXTRA

Today is the big day. I’ve been praying for this day for a year. We have a neighborhood party tonight. We have handed out about 60 invitations and are going to do some more today God willing. I am asking God to give us 8 people and I want to ask you to pray for me and with me. When this idea came to me about having a random party, inviting everyone in the area, it frightened me and the thing that made me most anxious was, “What if no one comes?” I’m not afraid to share the gospel, my fear was that no one would come to hear it. The fear has dissipated, I still have some churning in my stomach but I have enjoyed this week and I have stop worrying. Who knows if anyone will come? I am simply trusting the LORD, it is His party. I think we have 3-4 parties tomorrow night and then we have a couple on Friday night and then 2-3 on Saturday night and then the YOUTH party on Sunday Night. I think today is the kick off. I think MY HOPE will continue for some time. The LORD has laid on my heart another MY HOPE initiative between now and Christmas. We are going to need some money to do it and I want you to join men in praying for the money to get MY HOPE to every home that will let us in. One of the most difficult things about aging is resisting the temptation to take it easy. We don’t need to take it easy, we need to take it to the next level.

Leave a Reply

