Leaking Cups

October 31, 2013


Pray For MY HOPE

Pray For MY HOPE

SCRIPTURE

Oh, that they would always have hearts like this, that they might fear me and obey all my commands! If they did, they and their descendants would prosper forever.

~Deuteronomy 5:29, NLT

QUOTE

Beginning well is a momentary thing; finishing well is a lifelong thing.

~Ravi Zacharais

COMMENTARY

God spoke to the Israelites audibly and it frightened them. Usually when they came to Moses, it was with a complaint but this time it was a serious request: “Today we have seen that God can speak to us humans, and yet we live! But now, why should we risk death again? If the Lord our God speaks to us again, we will certainly die and be consumed by this awesome fire. Can any living thing hear the voice of the living God from the heart of the fire as we did and yet survive? Go yourself and listen to what the Lord our God says. Then come and tell us everything he tells you, and we will listen and obey.”

When Moses tells God what they said, God says, “I heard them but they are caught up in the moment. I wish they would maintain this attitude; if they did, they and their descendants would prosper forever but I know them and they will fizzle out.” [JEV]

One of my favorite stories is of the woman who was inconsistent in her worship attendance but when revival came, she would show up and show out. She was always moved by the visiting evangelist and after a couple of nights of revival, she would come to the altar and look toward heaven with open arms and hands, crying loudly, “LORD fill me, fill my cup, I lift it up.” She did this practically every year and one old deacon was tired of her inconsistency. He was at the altar on his knees when she broke out in prayer, “LORD fill my cup.” The old deacon blurted out, “LORD, don’t bother, her cup leaks.” In all honesty, all of us have leaky cups and that is why we need revival.

EXTRA

Wow! What a crowd! I can’t believe I thought the Traditional Stew was on the way out–I believe we fed 200. I know we had 80 kids if we had a one. Praise the LORD! We were given out by the time it was over but it was worth it. We do want to thank the Danville Football booster club and Keith and Jenny. If you see any of these folks, you need to thank them because they furnished the ingredients. Now we turn our attention to TRUNK-A-TREAT tonight from 6:00-7:00 and from that point on it is REVIVAL and My Hope. We need a great Revival folks, lives are at stake, literally. Pray!

Yum, Yum, give me some stew!

Yum, Yum, give me some stew!

Taking a ride on the hay!

Taking a ride on the hay!

Let's get a dessert!

Let’s get a dessert!

Leave a Reply

