The Key To Life

October 19, 2013


Pray For MY HOPE

Pray For MY HOPE

SCRIPTURE

You will live in such fear that the sound of a leaf driven by the wind will send you fleeing. You will run as though fleeing from a sword, and you will fall even when no one pursues you.

~Leviticus 26:36, NLT

QUOTE

There is only one healthy fear and that is the fear of the LORD

~Yaakov

COMMENTARY

Moses said to the Israelites in Deuteronomy 30:19, “Today I have given you the choice between life and death, between blessings and curses. Now I call on heaven and earth to witness the choice you make. Oh, that you would choose life, so that you and your descendants might live! You can make this choice by loving the Lord your God, obeying him, and committing yourself firmly to him. This is the key to your life. And if you love and obey the Lord, you will live long in the land the Lord swore to give your ancestors Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.” You know the history, the Israelites choose to disobey, they choose the curse and a part of the curse was being dispersed to other nations and leaving in fear of their enemies both real and imagined.

Some years ago, I had lunch with a Jewish Christian from New York City. It is strongly suspected that there are more Jews in New York city than there are in Israel. I ask this Jew for Jesus why the Jews in America are so liberal and why they continue to vote for democrats who are not pro-Israel. His answer was shocking but as I have learned since was predicted by Moses 4,000 years ago. The Jews in America are paranoid, they are afraid of the religious right. They fear men like Billy Graham. I told my friend that this was ridiculous. The Jews have nothing to fear from the religious right because we are all pro-Israel. He said, “I know that and you know that but they don’t. They associate Hitler with the religious right and they are afraid of the very people they should fear least.”

Sometimes we forget that Moses was a prophet and we base our eschatological views on Ezekiel, Daniel and the Revelation of Jesus Christ but Moses says a lot about the latter days:

  1. The Jews will be dispersed to all nations [because of their unbelief].
  2. They will live in fear and subjection to those nations.
  3. Their eyes will be opened: they will have a radical change in perception.
  4. They will mysteriously migrate to Israel and their numbers will be staggering [more than anyone realized]
  5. They will become like Paul: where as they avidly opposed Christianity, they will become flaming evangelist and lovers of Christ.
  6. They will be the leaders of a global revival.

EXTRA

Remember, no deacons meeting Sunday morning: I want to met with the Matthews at 8:15. The Pink Out is the 27th, not tomorrow. Pray for MY HOPE

My Hope at Time Square

My Hope at Time Square

EXTRA/EXTRA

Lori and Josie were sick last night so Big Mama and I go pick up Ty for the ball game. The kid is a parrot, the duck of all ducks, he never stops quacking. It was none stop all the way to the stadium. Then on the way home, it started, “The moon is moving. Who is moving the moon? Why do you speed Granddaddy? The moon is gone, where did it go? Can I have a milkshake? Can I spend the night with you? [Not without Josie came a double reply] When am I getting the milk shake? Will it be tonight? What time is it? Is this Dari Delight? Do they have honey mustard? Big Mama orders him a chicken finger snack and vanilla shake. I give him the shake and big mama is going to fix his chicken snack. I said “Boy, it will be worth the $7 if you will put a piece of chicken in your mouth.” He said, “I ‘m going to wait until I get home to eat.” I was terribly disappointed. He yacked all the way home. I would not dare carry that kid to Huntsville with out gagging him. He never shuts up. I got so frustrated that I said, “Son, can you go a mile without talking.” “No,” he said immediately, I can’t.

Leave a Reply

