October 15, 2013


Prayer For REVIVAL in America

Prayer For REVIVAL in America

SCRIPTURE

“If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross daily, and follow me. “

~Luke 9:23, NLT

QUOTE

The final step to becoming a disciple is a decision; we become a disciple of Christ once we decide this is what we want to do.

~Dallas Willard [Divine Conspiracy, p.297]

COMMENTARY

We do not drift into discipleship; it is not something that is just going to happen. Contrary to what Jesus taught, the popular opinion of the day is that discipleship is optional. We approach it like buying a new car: do we take the standard package which is more economical or do with get the extras: leather, heated and power seats, sun-roof, etc. Discipleship is not an extra: it is standard but unfortunately we don’t seem to understand this truth. Rarely do you meet professing Christians  who have made it their intention to follow Jesus and I think you would agree that the great percentage of professing Christians have no intention of becoming a disciple. Jesus said, “If any of you wants to be My follower.” If you don’t want it; it is not going to happen. Our problem is that we want Him as our Savior but not as our LORD. To be honest with you, I’m not sure we have that option. I can’t find any scripture to support that theology, can you?

EXTRA

I got some encouraging news from one of our MATTHEWS Sunday night. Everyone they have invited as agreed to come. I’m going to get my invitations out this week. My list keeps growing but I don’t have any commitments. I do feel better knowing that we have at least 100 prayer supporters. I did not do a count but I believe close to 100 raised their hand and I am counting on them. I could tell a difference Sunday night. Is there anything going on in AMERICA more important that MY HOPE [getting the gospel to the lost]? Get involved in MY HOPE this week.

road by lake

Leave a Reply

