Pure Grace

October 7, 2013


Prayer For REVIVAL in America

Prayer For REVIVAL in America

SCRIPTURE

So we praise God for the glorious grace he has poured out on us who belong to his dear Son.  He is so rich in kindness and grace that he purchased our freedom with the blood of his Son and forgave our sins.

~Ephesians 1:6-7, NLT

QUOTE

Nothing whatever pertaining to godliness and real holiness can be accomplished without grace.

~Augustine

COMMENTARY

It was in my college days back in the 70’s that I realized that humanism had infiltrated the church through of all things the pretense of holiness. True holiness is transparency. Jesus did not do any acting, He was Himself and He was holy. I am afraid a lot of Baptist have not come to the place where they can say with Paul, “I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh.” As I have reminded some preachers from time to time, everything is grace from beginning to end: we do not deserve sanctification any more than we deserved regeneration. His grace, not our goodness, saved and keeps us and this way, He gets all the glory. Herein lies the problem, we want some of the glory. Thus we have people trying to be holy for holiness sake and that is the human approach. We are not to pursue holiness; we pursue Jesus who has the power via His grace to make us holy. If we do it right, God gets the glory, we are humbled and others are edified. If we do it wrong, we take the glory, we swell with pride and become self-righteous and others get sick.

EXTRA

  • YESTERDAY: I have a lot to praise the LORD for and of course the rain is right up there at the top. I also want to thank Him for your prayers. I do know who or when but someone, maybe more than one prayed me through this weekend. I had two very difficult passages to deal with and one Sunday School lesson plus the message Saturday morning. I drove home last night with a feeling of gratitude and a sense of relief: I guess you would have to be a preacher to understand. We had a great crowd yesterday and a lot of visitors. Two Sundays in a row that we have had a lot of visitors. If they come back after the sermon yesterday morning, we know they are sincere.
  • Ken Blackwood: We did extend an invitation to Ken but he could not work it out so that he could be with us. If I understood correctly, they are flying from Louisiana to Huston and then back to China. I assume if was not a regular furlough. I think they came for the birth of their grandchild. We will do an offering for Ken and family between now and Christmas.
  • October 27 will be Breast Cancer Awareness day and we are going to do a PINK out in the a.m. service. That night is our Cook Out! Joe David will preach that morning and I will get some much needed rest and you too, right!
Joe Wheeler Gunn Copeland

Joe Wheeler Gunn Copeland

Anna Shaneyfelt Commissioned For Air Force

Anna Shaneyfelt Commissioned For Air Force

Leave a Reply

