Inspired Preaching

September 22, 2013


Prayer For REVIVAL in America

Prayer For REVIVAL in America

SCRIPTURE

Then God said to me, “Son of man, listen to every word I say to you and remember them. Then go to all of your people in exile and tell them, ‘This is what the Lord God says ….’ They will not listen, and they will not stop sinning, but you must still tell them my message.”

~Ezekiel 3:10-11, ERV

QUOTE

Inspired preaching offends the backslider but a real disciple is delighted when the truth brings him to his knees.

~Billy Sunday

COMMENTARY

God spoke to Ezekiel and then told him to speak to the exiles. This is the way preaching works, God speaks and then we speak. If God does not speak, we have nothing of substance to say. I love the story of the old deacon who when called on to pray the offertory would always pray for the pastor to have unction. The pastor was irritated by the prayer and thought he would put the old deacon on the spot. In front of group one day, the pastor said to him, “Brother, you are always praying for me to have unction, please give us a definition of unction.” “Well,” said the old deacon, “I don’t know exactly what it is but I know when you have it and when you don’t.”

EXTRA

  • Thank God for home and the sleep number. I wake up in the mornings by simply rolling to my back. I cannot sleep on my back. This morning I rolled to back and went back to sleep. I am tired but glad to be home. Very glad!!!
  • We are having the open House today for the YOUTH AND CHILDRENS rooms: 8:45-10:00. Joe David will be preaching this morning and Jason Bowling and Renee Bass will give us a brief report on the Guatemala trip.
  • I have a brief message for tonight and the kids will be singing tonight and possibly the quartet.
  • Today is blog number 1,500. Who would have ever dreamed!
There was a lot of love on this trip.

There was a lot of love on this trip.

Leave a Reply

