A Good Man Truly

September 16, 2013


Prayer For REVIVAL in America

Prayer For REVIVAL in America

SCRIPTURE

“I have made a covenant with my eyes; Why then should I look upon a young woman?”

~Job 31:1

QUOTE

To be right before God is to be as Job. It is to establish the practice of thinking right thoughts and desiring right things. Job was a man of impeccable integrity: his eyes, hands and heart were all in sync.

~Dallas Willard {Thought by Dallas Willard, edited by Yaahov}

COMMENTARY

Most of you are familiar with my theory about Job’s sweet wife. She must have been a beautiful woman. I say that for two reasons: [1] Job’s daughters were the most beautiful women in the land and [2] Why else would he put up with this despicable heifer? She must have been a beast in a beautiful body. Just look at the biblical evidence: she gave him no affirmation. Instead of encouraging the poor man, she put him down. She even encouraged him to sin: to forget his integrity, abandon his faith and curse God. If ever a man had grounds for divorce, it was Job. Not only did Job remain faithful to this foolish woman; he didn’t fool around or even look at another woman. Note what he says in 31:9-12, “If my heart has been seduced by a woman, or if I have lusted for my neighbor’s wife, then let my wife belong to another man; let other men sleep with her. For lust is a shameful sin, a crime that should be punished. It is a fire that burns all the way to hell. It would wipe out everything I own.” Don’t you think there were times when he wished she did belong to another man.

Seriously, Job was a very wise man and he gave little consideration to divorce because it is not God’s intention and his disrupts a natural bond [family] that harms its members for life.

EXTRA

I really don’t like to travel on Sunday because it fouls up my biological clock but I knew I needed rest and believe it or not, I got more yesterday than I have in a long time. No stress, no responsibilities: Jason is my boss this week. Willard has reminded me already that Jason is the boss but of course it hasn’t stopped him from telling me what to do but that’s OK, I am submissive by nature. It was sunny and hot when we landed but by the time we got to the mountain villa it was sprinkling rain and overcast. The Guatemalan’s were wearing coats last night and yesterday was their independence day so I could hear fireworks in the back ground last night as studied. Our first joint worship went well. Jason loves being in charge but he doesn’t like questions or criticism. I came within a spat of getting expelled from the synagogue. We had a good service although everyone was tired from a long day.

Leave a Reply

