Easy Street

September 12, 2013


 

Prayer For REVIVAL in America

Prayer For REVIVAL in America

SCRIPTURE

And I’ll sit back and say to myself, “My friend, you have enough stored away for years to come. Now take it easy! Eat, drink, and be merry!”’
Luke 12:19, NLT

QUOTE

Toleration is often a disguise indifference.

~Frederick Buechner

COMMENTARY

It is human nature to desire things to be simple, easy, and non-conflicting. We want everything to be easy, even the decisions that we have to make. Jesus prayer of surrender in the garden lead to a cross. We don’t want a cross. We don’t even want to deny ourselves the basic comforts of life. As followers of Christ, we are in His charge. He will decide what is best for us and His way may not be so easy. How would you like to play football for Nick Saban? Do you think his players have had an easy week or an easy Summer? No team can be competitive that does not work hard. To claim victory on Saturday, you have to work on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. I’m not predicting a win on Saturday but I guarantee you that win or lose, they will go back to work on Monday. There is a reason for Jesus not going easy on us. He is getting us ready for something greater.

EXTRA

Less than 72 hours to departure to Guatemala. We are busy packing and making last-minute adjustments. I have not printed my tickets yet which is one of many things on my plate today. Kenny Holladay should get to come home today. Nell Shaneyfelt [Anthony’s mom] is in HH from a knee replacement. I had a good crowd for preaching last night and AWANA was up also. I had about 6 choir members which helped my attendance but most of them decided to lay out since there was no choir practice. I took names. I liked Bro. Tom’s memorial tribute yesterday for the 9/11 victims. I meant to get a picture but didn’t. I supposing it was a joint effort between Shady Grove and Neel Fire Department.

Leave a Reply

