Revival Never Deserved

August 27, 2013


Prayer For REVIVAL in America

Prayer For REVIVAL in America

SCRIPTURE

For thus says the High and Lofty One who inhabits eternity, whose name is Holy: “I dwell in the high and holy place, with him who has a contrite and humble spirit, to revive the spirit of the humble, and to revive the heart of the contrite ones.”

~Isaiah 57:15, NKJV

QUOTE

Have you noticed how much praying for revival has been going on of late – and how little revival has resulted? I believe the problem is that we have been trying to substitute praying for obeying, and it simply will not work.

~A.W. Tozer

COMMENTARY

Only God can give revival and there are no formulas that work. Bro. Inman always said, “Revivals can’t be worked up, they have to be prayed down.” I do not suppose that any revival is history was deserved but came by an act of sovereign grace. We do not deserve and outpouring of God’s Spirit but we desperately need it. I do agree with Tozer that prayer is not a substitute for obedience but I see no indication that we have a burden to pray. Matthew Henry once said, “You know God is up to something when men get a burden to pray.” Charles Spurgeon said, “The devil does not beat a dead horse.” I think the devil is fighting MY HOPE by using psychological warfare. I do not remember a time in my life when he oppressed me more with the spirit of fear and doubt. I was very encouraged to get an email from Teddy. He showed the most recent MY HOPE video and they had one profession of faith and 54 families to say they would consider being MATTHEWS. If I hear a few more reports like that, I will have revival in spite of the devil. There is a link to the video on last Wednesday’s blog.

EXTRA

  • I took a day of personal leave yesterday because the only uncle I have on the Bailey side was in Athens for a few hours and I had not visited my sister who is in the hospital. I made some other visits while I was there including my Aunt Cora who is 98.
  • Click on this link and you should see a very enjoyable video…maybe, I hope Enjoy Your FlightFwdFwdEn (1)
  • Chick-Fil-A tomorrow night…order by 10:00 am Wednesday.
My Aunt Cora

My Aunt Cora

Uncle Floyd and Aunt Lucille

Uncle Floyd and Aunt Lucille

One Response to “Revival Never Deserved”

  1. Holly Roberts Says:

    Glad you were able to visit with the kin folk. I heard you had special orders from the Elder Sibling….you will be blessed.

Leave a Reply

