Stress

August 17, 2013


Prayer For REVIVAL in America

SCRIPTURE

For bodily exercise profits a little, but godliness is profitable for all things, having promise of the life that now is and of that which is to come.

~I Timothy 4:8, NKJV

QUOTE

Spend some time with those who bring out the best in you…not the stress in you.

~Source Unknown

COMMENTARY

Look closely at what Paul said: he did not say there is no profit in bodily exercise, he simply says, it is not as profitable and exercise in godliness. Bodily exercise helps us here but exercise in godliness helps us here and hereafter. That being said, most of us have too much stress of the wrong sort. Not all stress is bad. Eustress is good stress and could save your life or at least prolong it. Distress is bad stress. Over a long period of time it can be deadly. Many heart attacks are stress induced. Actually stress can create many physical and emotional problems. Many people get hooked on drugs by using them as stress relievers.  The symptoms of distress are headache, tension, hyper activity, back and abdominal pain. Distress lowers our immune system, intensifies chronic pain and causes severe anxiety. Here are some suggested ways to deal with bad stress:

  • Establish a quiet time. Nothing will help you more than spending some time alone. God speaks to us more often in the quiet. Jesus loves you and there is nothing you can do about it. Spend some time with HIM. It will become the most refreshing part of your day.
  • You may need some rest or even a short vacation. I’m not talking about a working vacation with activities. I talking retreat and genuine rest. Bitter Blue Betty may be right, some days you need a “To don’t list.”
  • Exercise is a great stress reliever. Jogging always worked for me much better than Excedrin. Any exercise that creates eustress is good.
  • Be pro-active. Act rather than be acted upon. Pro-active people have less stress because they have fewer emergencies because they plan and prepare. If I don’t have a sermon by Saturday night, it can create stress, unnecessary stress due to my lack of planning and preparation.
  • You must have a sense of humor; especially if you have a stressful job, otherwise you are headed for some sort of breakdown.
  • Spend some time with a good friend who brings out the best in you.
  • Do something you really enjoy. What is the one venue that you dream of most often? In what place do you relax and really enjoy yourself? For many, it is the beach: for me it is a major league baseball game, not on TV but being at the park.

EXTRA

  • I love the fall temperatures and I would not be terribly upset with a light frost. Not only is my garden run away, my back yard is run away. Normally, I enjoy cutting grass but I’ve about had my fill. I’ll still take rain over a draught…Thank YOU Jesus for the rain.
  • Election Sunday and Baptism in a.m. worship celebration
  • Discipleship Now is on!
  • My phone will not down load pictures. I say that because some of you are sending me pics and I would post them if I could download them.
  • Chloe [Alias Taz] spent the night with us: I hope we survive. The girl is a mess and I am putting it mildly.
The Wild Child

The Wild Child

Leave a Reply

