Introversion

August 15, 2013


Prayer For REVIVAL in America

Prayer For REVIVAL in America

SCRIPTURE

Pride goes before destruction, and haughtiness before a fall.

~Proverbs 16:18, NLT

QUOTE

“As long as you think the problem is out there, that very thought is the problem”

~Stephen Covey

COMMENTARY

Is there any particular sin that you are fond of pouncing on, such as infidelity. It is a very destructive sin and it leaves a trail of emotional debris but your sin of self-righteousness may be more offensive to God than the sin of those who have broken a vow. While I was trying to pastor a small church during my seminary days, I had a delegation of elderly ladies approach me complaining about the younger women wearing short skirts. They insisted that I preach them a sermon.  I listened politely to their complaint but the next Sunday, I preached on gossip and every one of them left mad. I am not saying that immodest dress is appropriate but I am saying that gossip is as sinful as wearing a short skirt. The old ladies didn’t wear short skirts but I knew for a fact that they were gossips. Do you know what happens to people who go to seed on one particular sin to the neglect of all others? The very sin they despise in others will eventually pay them a visit. Keep in mind that our sins can revisit us in the lives of our children and grandchildren. They say the famous last words of a redneck are, “Hey yall, watch this!” The last words of the self-righteous are, “It will never happen to me.” We should remind ourselves daily that there is no sin that we are not capable of committing. In what ever area you think you have immunity, that is most likely where the devil will trip you up.

EXTRA

  • Good supper, Great Ice Cream, Good Service and Good attendance last night.
  • I think I may have told you but not sure, LORD willing I am going to Guatemala with Jason’s team and Teddy got my tickets so I bet I have good seats. It is a grace trip for me. The LORD did it all, I am just going along for the ride.
  • Met with Lisa Osborn for a few minutes last night: The search committee is looking for resume’s. If you know of a qualified person, please give Lisa their name. The committee is going to prepare a survey for the church that will be done in late September. I would guess either the 22 or 29. Please pray for Lisa and the search team. They have a very difficult assignment. We will run the qualifications from the by-laws again this Sunday if we don’t forget.
  • Election this Sunday. Polls open at 9:00 in foyer and close at 10:30.
  • Pray for MY HOPE November 7.
  • Pray for our REVIVAL November 3-6 with Wade Morris.

Little Jack 8

Leave a Reply

